IASMiRT: SMiRT 18 - Introduction


NC State University
Campus Box 7908
Raleigh, NC 27695-7908

Email: IASMiRTinfo@gmail.com


Dave Shepherd
Cramiar Limited, UK

President-Elect and Chair of SMiRT 24
Goon-Cherl Park
Seoul National University, Korea

Vice President and Secretary
Abhinav Gupta
North Carolina State University, USA

Farhang Ostadan
Bechtel Corporation, USA

Advisor General
Vernon Matzen
North Carolina State University, USA

International Association for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology

SMiRT 18 Flag

SMiRT 18 Conference

Beijing, China

August 7-12, 2005

SMiRT 18, held August 7 through 12, 2005 at the Beijing Friendship Hotel followed 17 successful biennial conferences in major cities around the world. It brought together scientists and engineers from around the world who deal with all aspects of structural mechanics applied to buildings and components in nuclear power plants and facilities. The technical program, composed of 13 divisions, featured plenary and keynote lectures, workshops, and presentations which provided comprehensive coverage of important topics and concepts designed to shape nuclear development in the future.

Presented by

International Association for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology (IASMiRT)

in cooperation with

AREVA• Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL)• Atomic Energy Srvices of Japan (AESJ)• Beijing Nuclear Society (BNS)• China Atomic Energy Authority (CAEA)• China Guangdong Nuclear Power Group (CGNPG)• China Nuclear Engineering & Construction (Group) Corporation (CNECC)• China Power Investment Corporation (CPI)• Chinese National Nuclear Corporation (CNNC)• Society de Mecanique Magnetique (S2M)• US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)